Program

30. Jun 19 – 21 o'clock
Speech
# 1 Resonances: Reparation & Restitution
Speech
Elke aus dem Moore, Linda Addae, Nadine Seidu
"Spirits inhabit the darkness that lightens, the darkness that darkens".

The accompanying event series "#Resonances: Listen to Things more often", curated by Nikola Hartl, is dedicated to one focus of the Triennale Kleinplastik. The themes of "Reparation and Restitution" are the focus of #1 Resonances. Admission is free.

In addition to the screening of the half-hour film "Un-Documented: Unlearning Imperial Plunder" from 2020 (in English and French, with German subtitles), Triennale curator Elke aus dem Moore will address the theses raised by the film as well as questions of social responsibility and memory in conversation with Linda Addae and Nadine Seidu from the Coordination Office for Remembrance Culture of the City of Stuttgart.

Filmmaker Ariella Aïsha Azoulay argues that those who looted millions of statues and objects and isolated them far away from their communities in museum display cases should be charged with attempted murder of these objects. In their eyes, not only were the objects stolen, but the rights of their original owners inscribed with them. But the objects, though locked up, are alive and alert - waiting to be reunited with their communities.

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay is a professor of Modern Culture and Media and Comparative Literature at Brown University, one of the oldest and most prestigious universities in America, as well as a filmmaker and curator of exhibitions and archives.


Nadine Seidu studied cultural studies, ethnology and communication studies at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz as well as cultural management (contact studies). She completed a traineeship as museum curator at the Historical Museum in Speyer and worked at the international exhibition office Atelier Brückner. She was part of the Namibia Initiative of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Culture as an advisor in the management staff of the Baden-Württemberg State Archives and was awarded the European Heritage in Motion Award of the European Museums Academy/Europa Nostra and was a mentee in the Steinbeis Institute's support programme "Top Women in Baden-Württemberg". Now Nadine Seidu is in charge of the newly established coordination office for the culture of remembrance of the state capital of Stuttgart, which has the task, among other things, of reappraising Stuttgart's colonial history and developing new approaches to contextualising and dealing with colonial monuments and street names.


Linda Addae is a research assistant at the Stuttgart Coordination Office for Remembrance Culture, a cultural scientist and an activist with Black Lives Matter Konstanz. At the end of 2020, the Stuttgart City Archive commissioned her for the preliminary study "Colonialist Thought and Colonial Culture in Stuttgart" in tandem with historian Michael Rösser (FernUniversität in Hagen/Universität Erfurt).

Admission is free.

Programm

30. Jun 19 – 21 Uhr
Vortrag
# 1 Resonances: Reparation & Restitution
Vortrag
Elke aus dem Moore, Linda Addae, Nadine Seidu
"Spirits inhabit the darkness that lightens, the darkness that darkens"

Die begleitende Veranstaltungsreihe „#Resonances: Listen to Things more often“, kuratiert von Nikola Hartl, widmet sich jeweils einem Schwerpunkt der Triennale Kleinplastik. Die Themen „Reparation und Restitution“ stehen bei #1 Resonances im Vordergrund. Der Eintritt ist frei.

Neben dem Screening des halbstündigen Films „Un-Documented: Unlearning Imperial Plunder“ von 2020 (in englischer und französischer Sprache, mit deutschen Untertiteln) stellt sich die Triennale-Kuratorin Elke aus dem Moore im Gespräch mit Linda Addae und Nadine Seidu von der Koordinierungsstelle Erinnerungskultur der Stadt Stuttgart den Theses, die der Film aufwirft sowie Fragen der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung und Erinnerung.

Die Filmemacherin Ariella Aïsha Azoulay argumentiert, dass diejenigen, die Millionen von Statuen und Objekten geplündert und sie weit weg von ihren Gemeinschaften in Museumsvitrinen isoliert haben, wegen versuchten Mordes an diesen Objekten angeklagt werden sollten. In ihren Augen wurden nicht nur die Objekte gestohlen, sondern mit ihnen auch die Rechte ihrer ursprünglichen Besitzer, die ihnen eingeschrieben sind. Doch die Objekte, wiewohl eingesperrt, leben und sind wachsam – und warten auf ein Wiedersehen mit ihren Gemeinschaften.

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay ist Professorin für Moderne Kultur und Medien und Komparatistik an der Brown University, einer der ältesten und renommiertesten Universitäten in Amerika, außerdem Filmemacherin und Kuratorin von Ausstellungen und Archiven.


Nadine Seidu studierte Kulturwissenschaften, Ethnologie und Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz sowie Kulturmanagement (Kontaktstudium). Sie absolvierte ein Volontariat zur Museumskuratorin im Historischen Museum in Speyer und war im internationalen Ausstellungsbüro Atelier Brückner tätig. Als Referentin im Leitungsstab des Landesarchivs Baden-Württemberg war sie Teil der Namibia Initiative des MWK Baden-Württemberg.Sie wurde ausgezeichnet mit dem europäischen Heritage in Motion-Award der European Museums Academy/Europa Nostra und war Mentee im Förderprogramm „Spitzenfrauen in Baden-Württemberg“ des Steinbeis Instituts.Nun betreut Nadine Seidu die neu eingerichtete Koordinierungsstelle Erinnerungskultur der Landeshaupt Stuttgart, die u.a. die Aufarbeitung der Kolonialgeschichte Stuttgarts und die Entwicklung neuer Ansätze zur Kontextualisierung und zum Umgang mit kolonialen Denkmälern und Straßennamen zur Aufgabe hat.


Linda Addae ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin der Koordinierungsstelle Erinnerungskultur Stuttgart, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Aktivistin bei Black Lives Matter Konstanz. Ende 2020 beauftragte das Stadtarchiv Stuttgart sie für die Vorstudie „Kolonialistisches Denken und Kolonialkultur in Stuttgart“ im Tandem mit dem Historiker Michael Rösser (FernUniversität in Hagen/Universität Erfurt).

Der Eintritt ist frei.